Skip to content

The humility of Newt

Some fundamentally profound quotations attesting to the transformational grandiosity of Newt (via the Romney oppo research team):

  • “I Am Essentially A Revolutionary.” (Adam Clymer, “House Revolutionary,” The New York Times, 8/23/92)
  • “I Have An Enormous Personal Ambition. I Want To Shift The Entire Planet. And I’m Doing It. … I Represent Real Power.” (Lois Romano, “Newt Gingrich, Maverick On The Hill,” The Washington Post, 1/3/85)
  • “I First Talked About [Saving Civilization] In August Of 1958.” (Robert Draper, “He’s Baaack!” GQ, 8/05)
  • “Because I am much like Reagan and Margaret Thatcher, I’m such an unconventional political figure that you really need to design a unique campaign that fits the way I operate and what I’m trying to do.” (Jim Acosta, “Newt Gingrich Back From The Brink,” CNN.com, 11/16/11)
  • “I am the most seriously professorial politician since Woodrow Wilson.” (John Pitney, “Five Myths About Newt Gingrich,” The Washington Post, 11/22/11)
  • “I think Henry Clay’s probably the only other speaker to have been a national leader and a speaker of the House simultaneously.” (William Welch, “Gingrich: I’ll Go Down As Leader, Clinton As Tragedy,” USA Today, 8/30/99)
  • “Remember Braveheart? These people want somebody who plants a flag in the ground, gives a speech and yells ‘Charge!’ That is, someone like him.” (Susan Page, “Rising From The Pack, Gingrich Invites Scrutiny,” USA Today, 11/21/11)
  • “I am asking you to embark with me on a voyage of invention and discovery,” he said, “to be as bold and as brave as the Wright brothers.” (Jason Horowitz, “Newt Gingrich Draws Contrast With Romney,” The Washington Post, 12/1/11)

Categories

Uncategorized

Tags

, ,

Leave a Reply

