Skip to content

A gratuitous Woody Allen list

I’ve been rough on Woody Allen of late but watching this American Masters documentary reminds me of his unparalleled resume. These are not necessarily his best, just  my favorites (I’ve yet to see “Midnight in Paris”):

  • Crimes and Misdemeanors (Often my favorite, with big assists from Martin Landau and Alan Alda’s pink socks)
  • Hannah and Her Sisters (Or co-favorite; brilliantly cast, moving, hilarious)
  • Annie Hall (Diane Keaton)
  • Zelig (I was 12 when I first identified myself as a Woody Allen fan; ahead of its time despite a bygone setting)
  • Sweet and Lowdown (Rated a big high, perhaps, but the performances — especially Samantha Morton’s, the music of Django Reinhardt and its bittersweet tone get me every time)
  • Manhattan (Diane Keaton and the Academy of the Overrated)
  • Bullets over Broadway (This is what happens when you assemble a bunch of pros at their peak; Chazz Palminteri’s performance shouldn’t be overlooked)
  • Radio Days (Precious, and I mean that in a good way)
  • Husbands and Wives (Stolen by Sydney Pollack and Judy Davis)
  • Manhattan Murder Mystery (Diane Keaton)
  • Play it Again, Sam (Diane Keaton)

There were others I liked, some I barely remember and others I’d like to forget. Of my four least-favorite, I walked out of the first three and would’ve ducked out of  fourth had I not been on a date:

  • Celebrity (If, for no other reason, than Kenneth Branagh’s godawful Woody impression, although there were plenty of other reasons)
  • Hollywood Endings (Hard to believe how dated and unfunny this was)
  • Vicky Cristina Barcelona (A pretentious masturbatory fantasy w/ Javier Bardem as Woody)
  • Everyone Says I Love You (I have this recurring nightmare where Edward Norton sings to Drew Barrymore, and vice-versa)




Categories

Film

Tags

,

One thought on “A gratuitous Woody Allen list Leave a comment

  1. Nice rundown. When I think of truly great movies, Crimes and Misdemeanors always makes the list, along with The Good, the Bad and the Ugly and Cuckoo’s Nest.

Leave a Reply

