who do you trust, conservatives?

Most on the right seem to accept as gospel Dick “We will be greeted as liberators” Cheney’s assertion that America is less safe because we no longer torture. Gen. David Petraeus, who saved the administration’s ass in Iraq, disagrees. I know the Washington Post won’t dissuade many conservatives, but their reporting here is thorough. In the end, though, not a single significant plot was foiled as a result of Abu Zubaida’s tortured confessions, according to former senior government officials who closely followed the interrogations. Nearly all of the leads attained through the harsh measures quickly evaporated, while most of the useful information…

the most annoying performances in filmdom

I’m sticking with flicks I’ve actually seen, so no “Patch Adams” or Adam Sandler. Tom Cruise, “Magnolia” I could focus on the irony of Cruise playing a cult leader, but, having portrayed Oberon, King of the Fairies in my high school’s production of “A Midsummer Night’s Dream,” I’ll pass. But there’s no forgiving the atrocities visited upon the great Jason Robards in what would be his final film role. Imagine having to endure a weeping, badly overacting Scientologist warbling mournful Aimee Mann tunes as you lay dying. I would’ve pulled the plug. Michael Moore, “Bowling for Columbine” “Roger and Me” holds up…