Day: July 29, 2008

  • good thing i’m not their employer

    Serious journalists are skeptics, not cheerleaders: When Obama walked on stage at the McCormick Center, many journalists in the audience leapt to their feet and applauded enthusiastically after being told not to do so. During a two-minute break halfway through the event, which was broadcast live on CNN, journalists ran to the stage to snap…

  • breaking news: 5.4 earthquake is not breaking news

    I experienced a few minor earthquakes in my six years in L.A. A friend of mine who still lives there assured me that today’s was just as insignificant, falling in that moderate 4.5 to 5.4 range. The coverage is laughable. However uneventful, you never forget your first. Mine happened in the middle of the night.…

  • the hippies of my youth

    Having come of age in the 70s, much of my childhood was informed by hippies. At that point they had merged into the mainstream and, thanks to their age and self-righteous vigor, hippies seized influence. “Sesame Street” and “The Electric Company” were nothing but outlets for hippie propaganda, though they were harmless enough. And I…