The blogosphere says what?

I’m so totally depressed. Do you know how hard it is to find a sensitive, uncircumcised bear? There ain’t many out there, folks, as I’m finding out. I’ve been thinking a lot about Rand-O lately, but I can’t go there. I just can’t.

The other day I called in sick, my 19th mental health day of the year. Only one more left. Damn fashists! Anyway, I spent the day in bed, wallowing in my aloneness. I had my iPod on shuffle, which can be dangerous, especially when “Candle in the Wind” comes on.

That song makes me so emotional. Hard to believe it’s been almost 10 years since Princess Di left us. What an amazing, amazing woman! I remember where I was when I heard the news. I was in my dorm room, crying in bed after some jerk made what I interpreted to be a homophobic remark to someone I didn’t know.

I felt so bad for Di’s yummy sons. I wonder if they’re circumcised? I’d loves me some Prince Harry!

But enough about my love life, or lack thereof. There are people that I care about who are in deep trouble, as Elton’s bittersweet song reminded me. Poor Lindsay and Britney, two candles in my wind that are barely flickering. I’m rooting for you girls, don’t ever forget that. Linds, you are a triple threat, so beautiful, so talented, so inspiring. And Brit Brit, well, you know how I feel, assuming you read my many fan letters (no hard feelings about the restraining order).

I found some of my old Tiger Beat magazines, with Brit and Justin together, so young, so beautiful, so happy. Him with his frosted curls, her with her long blond mane. And it made me cry, thinking how this society destroys our best and brightest. We did it to Marilyn. And now we’re doing it to Lindsay and Britney.

I say no more. Time we stepped up and defended our idols. They’ve given me so much strength over the years. If they can do it, so can I. Yes, I CAN find a sensitive, uncircumcised bear. I mean, I WILL find one. Just like Lindsay and Britney WILL reclaim their fabulousness.

I’ll be in the front row, rooting them on, laughing at the haters who doubted us.

Until then, at least I have “High School Musical 2″ to cheer me up. Isn’t it the best? I’m on like my 10th viewing. Zac Efron, OMG!!! Can you say, hottie?

Vick apologists refuse to quit

I wish R.L. White, president of the Atlanta chapter of the NAACP, would read Michael Wilbon’s column on the Michael Vick affair.

You wonder if the people who unabashedly apologize for Michael Vick, particularly in and around Atlanta, will see Vick for what he is, for what he’s been, or whether they’ll continue to give him the kind of cover that allows his brand of arrogance to thrive.

Wonder no more, Wilbon.

White said that the Atlanta chapter supports Vick’s decision to accept a plea bargain if it is in his best interest. However, White says Vick is a human being who has made a mistake and should be allowed to prove that he has learned from that mistake.

After that, White says Vick should be allowed to return to professional football — preferably with the Atlanta Falcons.

“As a society, we should aid in his rehabilitation and welcome a new Michael Vick back into the community without a permanent loss of his career in football,” White said. “We further ask the NFL, Falcons, and the sponsors not to permanently ban Mr. Vick from his ability to bring hours of enjoyment to fans all over this country.”

I have no stake in Vick’s rehabilitation. That’s his responsibility (a foreign concept to him, I know). And what does the NFL owe Vick, at this point? He’s a thug (word used advisedly) who lied repeatedly to the commissioner and his owner.

Or is he merely a victim? Despite his plea bargain, White isn’t convinced of Vick’s guilt.

“At this point, you’re not looking at guilt or innocence,” White said, referring to the possible harsher sentence Vick could have received had he taken his case to trial and been found guilty. “You’re thinking, ‘What I better do is cut my losses and take a plea.’ But if he saw this as the best thing to do at this point for his future, then I think he made the correct choice.”

He added that he does believe that Vick may be guilty of some wrongdoing, but could be taking responsibility for crimes that he did not commit.

White said he believed the more likely scenario is that Vick was an owner who was not fully aware of the kennel’s activities.

White said he regretted that the plea deal will mean all of the facts of the case may never be known.

“Some have said things to save their own necks,” White said. “Michael Vick has received more negative press than if he had killed a human being.”

Yep, it’s the press’ fault. It’s his friends’ fault. It’s everyone’s fault but the rich quarterback/martyr who once held a city in the palm of his hand.

Higher negatives than Hillary

Media_httpatlmalconte_viicj

Former Massachusetts Governor Mitt Romney has finally surpassed New York Senator Hillary Clinton in the polls. Unfortunately for Romney, it’s a poll measuring the number of people committing to vote against him.

The Rasmussen Reports national telephone survey found that 44% of Likely Voters would definitely vote against Romney if he’s on the ballot in 2008. That’s a point higher than the 43% who would definitely vote against Clinton.

Based on historic trends, we’re guaranteed to see Romney and Hillary facing off in the general, as the two parties have a habit of nominating their least attractive candidates.

The most backward state in Dixie?

Watch out, Alabama! Georgia’s gunning for you.

While Florida and South Carolina have moved to address global warming, Georgia is seeking to discredit it.

“In the media, we hear the gloom and doom side,” said Rep. Jeff Lewis (R-White), chairman of the House Energy, Utilities and Telecommunications Committee that held the hearing. “There is alternative information out there.”

You know, like the information disseminated by energy, utility and telecommunication companies.

The hearing was followed by a lunch for lawmakers, sponsored by Georgia Natural Gas and AT&T.

If Michael Vick is guilty, we’re all guilty

Not sure if commenter Haseem Jones is for real, but he forwards an argument that has been made by Vick apologists such as Falcons WR Joe Horn and a prominent NAACP executive

Have you ever swatted a fly? Set a mouse trap? Slapped a mosquito that was sucking your blood? Squished an ant?

How about eaten a hamburger, or chicken, or fish, or a ham sandwich or lamb chop or Canadian bacon pizza?

If you answered yes to any of those questions, you’re just as bad as Michael Vick. Dude fought some dogs. Hung a couple, electrocuted and drowned household pets. Big deal. You’ve killed animals too. So what’s the difference?

Oh, the media says it’s so bad. You don’t see the media saying it’s so bad to go around killing deers, or possums or cows or chicken or pigs or sheep or mice or squirrels. An animal’s an animal.

Stop the hatin’.

*"Starbury," aka Knicks guard Stephon Marbury, checks in:

"I think, you know, we don’t say anything about people who shoot deer or shoot other animals. You know, from what I hear, dogfighting is a sport. It’s just behind closed doors."

Starbury inadvertently brings up a salient point:

"I think it’s tough that we build Michael Vick up and then we break him down. I think he’s one of the superb athletes, and he’s a good human being. I just think that he fell into a bad situation."

So because he’s a superb athlete, he deserves a break? Nothing new there — that’s a maxim that unites rich and poor, black and white.

The blogosphere says what?

I’m so totally depressed. Do you know how hard it is to find a sensitive, uncircumcised bear? There ain’t many out there, folks, as I’m finding out. I’ve been thinking a lot about Rand-O lately, but I can’t go there. I just can’t.

The other day I called in sick, my 19th mental health day of the year. Only one more left. Damn fashists! Anyway, I spent the day in bed, wallowing in my aloneness. I had my iPod on shuffle, which can be dangerous, especially when "Candle in the Wind" comes on.

That song makes me so emotional. Hard to believe it’s been almost 10 years since Princess Di left us. What an amazing, amazing woman! I remember where I was when I heard the news. I was in my dorm room, crying in bed after some jerk made what I interpreted to be a homophobic remark to someone I didn’t know.

I felt so bad for Di’s yummy sons. I wonder if they’re circumcised? I’d loves me some Prince Harry!

But enough about my love life, or lack thereof. There are people that I care about who are in deep trouble, as Elton’s bittersweet song reminded me. Poor Lindsay and Britney, two candles in my wind that are barely flickering. I’m rooting for you girls, don’t ever forget that. Linds, you are a triple threat, so beautiful, so talented, so inspiring. And Brit Brit, well, you know how I feel, assuming you read my many fan letters (no hard feelings about the restraining order).

I found some of my old Tiger Beat magazines, with Brit and Justin together, so young, so beautiful, so happy. Him with his frosted curls, her with her long blond mane. And it made me cry, thinking how this society destroys our best and brightest. We did it to Marilyn. And now we’re doing it to Lindsay and Britney.

I say no more. Time we stepped up and defended our idols. They’ve given me so much strength over the years. If they can do it, so can I. Yes, I CAN find a sensitive, uncircumcised bear. I mean, I WILL find one. Just like Lindsay and Britney WILL reclaim their fabulousness.

I’ll be in the front row, rooting them on, laughing at the haters who doubted us.

Until then, at least I have "High School Musical 2" to cheer me up. Isn’t it the best? I’m on like my 10th viewing. Zac Efron, OMG!!! Can you say, hottie?

Vick apologists refuse to quit

I wish R.L. White, president of the Atlanta chapter of the NAACP, would read Michael Wilbon’s column on the Michael Vick affair.

You wonder if the people who unabashedly apologize for Michael Vick, particularly in and around Atlanta, will see Vick for what he is, for what he’s been, or whether they’ll continue to give him the kind of cover that allows his brand of arrogance to thrive.

Wonder no more, Wilbon.

White said that the Atlanta chapter supports Vick’s decision to accept a plea bargain if it is in his best interest. However, White says Vick is a human being who has made a mistake and should be allowed to prove that he has learned from that mistake.

After that, White says Vick should be allowed to return to professional football — preferably with the Atlanta Falcons.

“As a society, we should aid in his rehabilitation and welcome a new Michael Vick back into the community without a permanent loss of his career in football,” White said. “We further ask the NFL, Falcons, and the sponsors not to permanently ban Mr. Vick from his ability to bring hours of enjoyment to fans all over this country.”

I have no stake in Vick’s rehabilitation. That’s his responsibility (a foreign concept to him, I know). And what does the NFL owe Vick, at this point? He’s a thug (word used advisedly) who lied repeatedly to the commissioner and his owner.

Or is he merely a victim? Despite his plea bargain, White isn’t convinced of Vick’s guilt.

“At this point, you’re not looking at guilt or innocence,” White said, referring to the possible harsher sentence Vick could have received had he taken his case to trial and been found guilty. “You’re thinking, ‘What I better do is cut my losses and take a plea.’ But if he saw this as the best thing to do at this point for his future, then I think he made the correct choice.”

He added that he does believe that Vick may be guilty of some wrongdoing, but could be taking responsibility for crimes that he did not commit.

White said he believed the more likely scenario is that Vick was an owner who was not fully aware of the kennel’s activities.

White said he regretted that the plea deal will mean all of the facts of the case may never be known.

“Some have said things to save their own necks,” White said. “Michael Vick has received more negative press than if he had killed a human being.”

Yep, it’s the press’ fault. It’s his friends’ fault. It’s everyone’s fault but the rich quarterback/martyr who once held a city in the palm of his hand.

Higher negatives than Hillary

Mittromney

Former Massachusetts Governor Mitt Romney has finally surpassed New York Senator Hillary Clinton in the polls. Unfortunately for Romney, it’s a poll measuring the number of people committing to vote against him.

The Rasmussen Reports national telephone survey found that 44% of Likely Voters would definitely vote against Romney if he’s on the ballot in 2008. That’s a point higher than the 43% who would definitely vote against Clinton.

Based on historic trends, we’re guaranteed to see Romney and Hillary facing off in the general, as the two parties have a habit of nominating their least attractive candidates.

The most backward state in Dixie?

Watch out, Alabama! Georgia’s gunning for you.

While Florida and South Carolina have moved to address global warming, Georgia is seeking to discredit it.

“In the media, we hear the gloom and doom side,” said Rep. Jeff Lewis (R-White), chairman of the House Energy, Utilities and Telecommunications Committee that held the hearing. “There is alternative information out there.”

You know, like the information disseminated by energy, utility and telecommunication companies.

The hearing was followed by a lunch for lawmakers, sponsored by Georgia Natural Gas and AT&T.

“The more scribbled the name, the bigger the fame”

Media_httpatlmalconte_wtzuu

Classic films, classic scenes:

Rupert Pupkin (DeNiro) attempts to seduce an old classmate, from Scorsese’s most underrated film, “King of Comedy” (notice the eavesdropping patron in the background).

I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention Jerry Lewis‘ outstanding supporting performance. Not a fan of his comedy, but the man is a fine actor.