Respites

Color me frightened

Check out this peak into the world of the Streisand obsessed:

Christmas Eve. Lauderdale Lakes, Fla. 1976. Lorraine Lipman is going to see A Star Is Born with seven friends and asks her 14-year-old daughter, Robin, if she’d like to come. ”What else does a Jewish kid do on Christmas Eve?” Robin now recalls, flashing a smile that dimples her cheeks and squints up her eyes. ”As soon as I saw Barbra Streisand’s face on the screen, I was blown away.” Her expression turns deadly serious. ”My whole life changed that night.”

Lipman went to see the movie again. And again. And again. 163 times, in fact. As soon as school ended for the day, she would hop on the bus and head to the theater. Every weekend, she’d catch screenings from morning until night. She wore out and replaced the soundtrack album three times, weeping through each listen, leaving tearstains all over the record covers. ”That was when I decided I’m going to save every penny for the rest of my life for a Barbra Fund,” she says. ”I saved every birthday present, every Hanukkah present. I sold all my jewelry. I got extra jobs. I’m so glad I had the foresight to start that back when I was 14.”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 341 other followers

