I hate to become part of the problem but …

The American public, with a sizable assist from the navel-gazing media, is responsible for the virus knows as Kim Kardashian. I hate to contribute to the debasing of the culture by even acknowledging its existence but I can’t let this comment, contained within a letter to its “fans” regarding the demise of her 72-day marriage, pass:

I’m being honest here and I hope you respect my courage because this isn’t easy to go through.

You know, if Al-Qaeda had bombed the Kardashian wedding they’d probably win a lot of converts.

I’d suggest Occupying the Kardashians but that’s been done (by thousands of skeezy dudes).

Herman Cain’s story keeps changing

The alleged “high-tech lynching” of Herman Cain has elicited an almost Clinton-ian response from the GOP presidential candidate popular motivational speaker. The New York Times chronicles his ever-shifting version of events.

ON A SETTLEMENT:

Fox News, “Happening Now,” 11:20 am, Monday:

“If the restaurant did a settlement, I wasn’t even aware of it. And I hope it wasn’t for much, because nothing happened.”

National Press Club, 1 pm, Monday:

“I am unaware of any settlement. I hope it wasn’t for much, because I didn’t do anything.”

PBS Newshour, 6 p.m.:

“I was aware that an agreement was reached. The word ‘settlement’ versus the word ‘agreement,’ you know, I’m not sure what they called it. I know that there was some sort of agreement.”

Fox News, “On the Record,” 10 p.m. Monday:

“We ended up settling for what would have been a termination settlement, quite frankly … Maybe three months’ salary or something like that, just vaguely trying to recall it. … It might have been two months.”

CNN Headline News, “Morning Express,” Tuesday, 10 a.m.:

“The one that I remember and am aware of and was a financial settlement and it was somewhere in the vicinity of three to six months’ severance pay, something of that nature.”