Conservatives vs. the conspiracy theorists

Conservative talk show host Michael Medved takes on talk radio in a must-read column:

None of the attacks on Mr. Obama’s intentions offers an even vaguely plausible explanation of how the evil genius, once he has ruined our “strength, influence and standard of living,” hopes to get himself re-elected. In a sense, the president’s most paranoid critics pay him a perverse compliment in maintaining that his idealism burns with such pure, all-consuming heat that he remains blissfully unconcerned with minor matters like his electoral future. They label Mr. Obama as the political equivalent of a suicide bomber: so overcome with hatred (or “rage”) that he’s perfectly willing to blow himself up in order to inflict casualties on a society he loathes.

Looks like the Baptists win again

Our last governor was a crook. His replacement has, at the very least, been cordial with impropriety. The new speaker of the house might as well be fornicating with lobbyists.

And now, thanks to pressure from Christian conservatives who should have better things to worry about than the drinking habits of their fellow Georgians, legislation permitting Sunday alcohol sales has stalled. Again.

Pardon me for having zero faith in Georgia’s Republican monopoly.

Eating soap or freezing to death in a sparsely decorated Georgetown condo?

Would've jumped off building had she known her future

I haven’t seen the movie, nor can I find the clip, but according to Moviefone’s countdown of the worst romantic comedies ever, Freddie Prinze Jr.’s character in “Down to You” attempts suicide by soap after breaking up with Julia Stiles.

I couldn’t help but think of the scene from “St. Elmo’s Fire” (No. 2 on my list of the worst movies I paid money to see) when Demi Moore attempts to kill herself by opening all the windows and freezing to death. Again, you’re spared a clip.

Least credible awards show: Grammys or People’s Choice?

Queen, Jimi Hendrix, Bob Marley, The Who, Diana Ross and The Doors never won a Grammy. And that’s just the popular, accessible performers who were overlooked.

Past Grammy recipients include DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince (who won over Public Enemy), Milli Vanilli, Christopher Cross, the Starland Vocal Band (“Afternoon Delight”), Puff Daddy, Michael Bolton, Hootie and the Blowfish, Britney Spears and the guys who sang “Who Let the Dogs Out.”

Self-absorbed pro athlete du jour

I am great, aren't I!

Pro baller Carmelo Anthony congratulated himself Saturday for dealing with distractions he created after turning down a $64.7 million contract extension.

“I think it takes a strong-willed person, a strong-minded person, to deal with the stuff that I deal with and still go out there and go to work every day and perform on a nightly basis,” the Denver forward said about trade rumors that have swirled all season as the Feb. 24 trade deadline approaches. “I take my hat off to myself for dealing with all this stuff that’s going on and still be able to go out there and play at the high level that I can play at. I really don’t think an average person can walk in my shoes. I don’t think that.”

All that and humble, too.