if bad things happen in threes, i’m screwed

On Tuesday, for the first time in my life, I ran out of gas. Fortunately, I was only a couple of blocks from a filling station.

Tonight, my glasses fell into the toilet, another first. Fortunately, I had just flushed. Unfortunately, I was not at home.

That’s consistent with my luck. Totaled four cars, never been hurt. House burned down, lost only my books.

in case you missed it

Once again, the General Assembly makes us proud.

I did a heckuva job!

I did a heckuva job!

A resolution making President Barack Obama an honorary member of the Georgia Legislative Black Caucus was blocked this week by Republicans who objected to the language.

State Rep. Austin Scott said he and other Republicans objected to wording that would have put the full chamber on record backing the resolution and its declaration of Obama as a man with an “unimpeachable reputation for integrity.”

These are the same Republicans who passed a resolution commending then-President Bush‘s response to Hurricane Katrina.

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that President Bush … and the others who are engaged in coping with this disaster be recognized for their outstanding and courageous service to the people of this nation.